Cape Town International schools/clubs hockey festival upon us

The 2012 Under-18 Cape Town International Schools/Clubs Hockey Festival takes place from Tuesday, July 17 to Sunday, July 22, with the grand opening ceremony kicking off at 16h00 at Hartleyvale Hockey Stadium.

The festival is now in its ninth year and there are 32 schools and youth club teams entered. Among them are the New South Wales Bushrangers Under-18 boys’ and girls’ teams, comprising players from Sydney, Australia, and the surrounding areas.

This is their fifth visit to Cape Town and they always provide strong opposition, not surprising considering Australia’s Kookaburras men’s national team are the number one side in the world and hot favourites to win the London 2012 Olympic Games, which starts on July 27.

The United Kingdom is represented by two schools – Kingston Grammar School (boys) and Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Wakefield (boys), while Zimbabwe is represented by St John’s College (boys) and Chisipite School (girls).

A host of Western Cape schools, including Wynberg Boys’ High, Rondebosch, Paul Roos Gim, Stellenberg, DF Malan, Paarl Gim, Hugenote, Parel Vallei, Pinelands, Edgemead, Paarl Boys’ High, Rhenish Girls’ High, Somerset College, Reddam House and Bloemhof, will be joined by visiting schools Pretoria Girls’ High, Outeniqua High and York High.

All matches will be played on top-rated astro pitches at Hartleyvale Hockey Stadium, the University of Cape Town, Wynberg Boys’ High, Bergvliet High and DF Malan High.

The Pool matches for the 16 teams are from 9h00 to 19h00 on Wednesday, July 18; Thursday, July 19 and Friday, July 20, with the final on Sunday, July 22. The Saturday is a rest day.

It all points to some wonderful youth hockey for the people of Cape town to enjoy.



Group A: NSW Bushrangers (Aus), Outeniqua, Parel Vallei, Bergvliet HS.

Group B: Rondebosch, Kingston Grammar (Eng), Paarl Gim, Edgemead.

Group C: Wynberg, Queen Elizabeth Grammar (Eng), Paarl, Pinelands.

Group D: Paul Roos, St John’s College (Zim), Hugenote, DF Malan.


Group A: NSW Bushrangers (Aus), Paarl Gim, Rhenish, Bergvliet.

Group B: Chisipite School (Zim), Stellenberg, Somerset College, Edgemead.

Group C: Reddam House, Outeniqua, Bloemhof, Pinelands.

Group D: Pretoria Girls’ High, DF Malan, Parel Vallei, York High.

blog comments powered by Disqus