Cape Town Tourism Board: Call for nominations

The election of five Cape Town Tourism Board members will take place at the sixth Annual General Meeting on October 7, 2010, as outlined in the organisation’s Constitution, adopted at the Special General Meeting of August 14, 2008.

Composition of the Cape Town Tourism Board:

The board of Cape Town Tourism is made up of 13 members -

  • Ten members elected at the Annual General Meeting of whom, subject to the availability and compliance with the criteria determined in terms of sub-clause 9.2.2., at least three must be South African citizens defined as “black persons” in the Broad-Based Black Economic Empowerment Act, No. 53 of 2003, and at least two must be female; The chief executive officer of Cape Town Tourism (ex officio);
  • A board member of Cape Town Routes Unlimited (CTRU) as nominated by the Board of CTRU (ex officio); and
  • The director of tourism for the City of Cape Town, or his or her nominee (ex officio).

Term of office:

The members of the Board of Cape Town Tourism serve a three-year term of office, commencing at the Annual General Meeting at which they are elected. Each member of the Board is eligible for re-election, provided that they serve on the Board for no more than two consecutive terms of office.

Members of Cape Town Tourism serving on the Board as of the date of adoption of the new Constitution are entitled to continue to serve, provided that the time already served by them is taken into consideration, for the purposes of determining the three-year term of office set out in sub-clause 9.3.1 and the maximum of two consecutive terms (six years) set out in sub-clause 9.3.2 of the Constitution.

Nomination process:

You can nominate any paid-up member of Cape Town Tourism who qualifies for election as per the criteria set out. Members must qualify in terms of proven leadership and management experience in tourism and/or marketing with a minimum of three years’ experience.

Five current board members – Bulelwa Makalima-Ngewana from Cape Town Partnership, Claus Tworeck from City Sightseeing, Pierre du Plessis from Mokate Monk & du Plessis quantity surveyors, Susanne Faussner-Ringer from Greenways Hotel, Yasmin Johnson from Discover Cape Town – are standing for re-election.

Please download the nomination form below, or contact Cape Town Tourism head office on +27 (0)21 487 6800 or e-mail for a copy.

Deadline for nominations:

Please return the nomination form with the necessary accompanying documentation by 17h00 on August 23, 2010 by fax to Elana Theunissen on +27 (0)21 487 6402 or e-mail to

Alternatively, you may submit your nominations by post provided that they reach Cape Town Tourism by the due date of August 23, 2010. Postal submissions can be directed to Cape Town Tourism, for the attention of Elana Theunissen, PO Box 1403, Cape Town, 8001. Cape Town Tourism will not be held liable for any late deliveries.

Your invitation to the Annual General Meeting will be sent shortly.

For any further information, please contact Elana on +27 (0)21 487 6800 or e-mail:

blog comments powered by Disqus