• Categories


  • Authors


  • Sort By


December 04, 2009

World Cup final draw results live

Cape Town Tourism will bring you live coverage of the Fifa World Cup 2010 Final Draw on this page.

7:02PM - South African singer Johnny Clegg is performing Scatterlings of Africa live on stage.

7:07PM - Nelson Mandela delivers an address via a pre-recorded message: “We feel priveleged and humbled that South Africa has been given the singualr honour of being the African host country. We must strive for excellence in our hosting of the World Cup, while at the same time ensuring that the event leaves a lasting benefit to all our people.”

“The long wait for its arrival on Africa’s soil has been worth it. Kenako; it’s time. I thank you”.

7:10PM - South Africa President Jacob Zuma: “We are on time; everthing has gone according to plan and we believe that the world is going to be surprised, because this cup that has acome to Africa; at the end of the tournament, it will remain in Africa.”

7:15PM - President of Italian Federation, Giancarlo Abete, hands over the World Cup trophy to President Sepp Blatter. It is now up for grabs once again! “Football will be the great legacy,” says Blatter.

7:25PM - Grammy Award-winning Benin singer Angelique Kidjo performs.

7:35PM - Oscar-winning actress Charlize Theron says: “I wouldn’t miss this historic event for anything.”

7:40PM - Mascot Zakumi shows off his football skills.

7:45PM - Charlize Theron introduces the official match ball, named Jabulani, which means “happy”.

7:55PM - The draw is about to take place…

8:05PM - Invited to make the draw are Springbok captain John Smit, Ethiopian runner Haile Gabriel Selassie, Proteas fast bowler Makhaya Ntini, Bafana Bafana defender Matthew Booth and England midfielder David Beckham.

8:25PM - And the groups are:

Group A
South Africa, Mexico, Uruguay, France.

Group B
Argentina, Korea Republic, Nigeria, Greece.

Group C
England, USA, Algeria, Slovenia.

Group D
Germany, Australia, Ghana, Serbia.

Group E
Netherlands, Japan, Cameroon, Denmark.

Group F
Italy, New Zealand, Paraguay, Slovakia.

Group G
Brazil,Korea DPR, Cote D’Ivore, Portugal.

Group H
Spain, Honduras, Chile, Switzerland.

comments powered by Disqus