• Categories


  • Authors


  • Sort By


March 23, 2013

Super Rugby: Will Stormers end Brumbies’ winning streak?

Joe Pietersen will be a key man for the Stormers today. Photo courtesy Paul Barnard Fotografie

Australian Super Rugby team the Brumbies, who are coached by former Springbok IRB Rugby World Cup-winning coach Jake White, have won all four of their Super 15 matches so far this year. They have also won their last seven away matches. This evening they go up against the Stormers at Newlands in Cape Town, with kick-off at 19h10 CAT (GMT +2). The question is, can the home team end the Brumbies' winning streak?

While any travelling Brumbies fans can look forward to some friendly banter with the Newlands faithful, the players are not going to get the same sort of welcome on the field. And, with a packed stadium cheering the hosts on at full volume, they are going to have to be pretty superb to continue their winning streak.

The Brumbies are currently on a high after beating the Sharks 29-10 in Durban last weekend. However, the Stormers are fresh, having had a free weekend last weekend after beating the defending champions, the Chiefs, the weekend before.

Below are the team lists as published on www.superxv.com


15. Joe Pietersen, 14. Gio Aplon, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Jean de Villiers (captain), 11. Gerhard van den Heever, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Dewaldt Duvenage, 8. Duane Vermeulen (vice-captain), 7. Rynhardt Elstadt, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Andries Bekker, 4. De Kock Steenkamp, 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Tiaan Liebenberg, 1. Steven Kitshoff.

Replacements: 16. Deon Fourie, 17. Pat Cilliers, 18. Don Armand, 19. Nizaam Carr, 20. Nic Groom, 21. Damian de Allende, 22. Jaco Taute.


15. Jesse Mogg, 14. Henry Speight, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 12. Christian Lealiifano, 11. Joe Tomane, 10. Matt Toomua, 9. Ian Prior, 8. Fotu Auelua, 7. George Smith, 6. Ben Mowen, 5. Sam Carter, 4. Peter Kimlin, 3. Dan Palmer, 2. Stephen Moore, 1. Scott Sio.

Replacements: 16. Siliva Siliva, 17. Ben Alexander, 18. Scott Fardy, 19. Colby Faingaa, 20. Nic White, 21. Robbie Coleman, 22. Clyde Rathbone, 23. Mark Swanepoel. (One player will be omitted.)

comments powered by Disqus