• Categories


  • Authors


  • Sort By


March 10, 2010

Haselbacher wins Wellington stage of Giro del Capo

Rene Haselbacher

Rene Haselbacher. Photo courtesy Tony Rocha

Austrian rider, Rene Haselbacher, won the first 106km stage of the 2010 Pick n Pay Cape Argus Giro del Capo invitational cycling event, held in Wellington yesterday. Haselbacher represents Team Safindit.co.za. Team Medscheme’s Malcolm Lange came in second, followed by Burry Stander of Team Specialized.

The second 143km stage is under way in Durbanville today, followed by the 171km Paarl route on Thursday and the concluding 5.5km individual time trial at Signal Hill on Friday.

The four-stage race, first held in 1992, takes place in and around Cape Town and the Boland, hence its name, Giro del Capo, which means “The Tour of the Cape”.

The 2010 Giro del Capo is open to six-strong teams with valid elite U23 racing licences. Teams can be entered by clubs, provinces or sponsors, which need to be registered with Cycling South Africa. Teams need to quality for the Giro del Capo on merit.

comments powered by Disqus