• Categories


  • Authors


  • Sort By


March 18, 2013

Cape Town’s stars win top honours at 2013 Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards

Artscape Theatre in Cape Town hosted the 2013 Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards on Sunday 17 March. Photo courtesy of Fazielah Williams

It’s official … Cape Town, the inspirational Mother City, is home to the most talented thespians!

Homegrown stars walked away with top honours at the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards at the Artscape Theatre on Sunday 17 March, 2013.

The glamorous, red-carpet awards ceremony was co-hosted by top South African comedian Alan Committee (who, it would seem, is quiet adept at playing the triangle along with the Cape Philharmonic Youth Orchestra, which provided the entertainment for the evening) and Cape Talk presenter Africa Melane, with great humour and flair.

The Mother City’s legendary theatres and stars garnered several of the coveted awards, including Yael Farber for Best Director for Mies Julie, a poignant drama first performed at the Baxter Theatre in Rondebosch, and now receiving rave reviews in London. Mies Julie was the runaway hit of the evening, wining a total of four awards.

The Fleur du Cap Awards, sponsored by the Distell Foundation, rewards excellence in theatre. This year's winners were selected by a panel of judges (made up of local critics, journalists, writers and drama educators) based on the almost 100 productions they reviewed in 2012.

Awards were given in 20 different categories. The winners, each receiving a silver medallion and a R15 000 cash prize, are as follows:

1. Best Director

Yael Farber for Mies Julie (performed at the Baxter Theatre)

2. Best New South African Script

Champ, by Louis Viljoen

3. Best Performance by a Lead Actress in a Play

Quanita Adams for Boesman & Lena, as Lena (written by theatre legend Athol Fugard and performed at the Baxter Theatre)

4. Best Performance by a Lead Actor in a Play

Elton Landrew for Boesman & Lena, as Boesman

5. Best Performance by a Supporting Actress in a Play

Thoko Ntshinga for Mies Julie, as Christine

6. Best Performance by a Supporting Actor in a Play

Mbulelo Grootboom for Just Business, as Mabuso (performed at the Artscape Theatre)

7. Best Performance by a Lead Actress in a Musical or Music Theatre Show

Samantha Peo for Cabaret, as Sally Bowles (performed at the Theatre on the Bay in Camps Bay)

8. Best Performance by a Lead Actor in a Musical or Music Theatre Show

Dean Balie for Kat and the Kings, as Young Kat Diamond (directed by David Kramer, performed at the Fugard Theatre in District Six)

9. Best Performance by a Supporting Actress in a Musical or Music Theatre Show

Charon Williams-Ros for Cabaret, as Fräulein Schneider

10. Best Performance by a Supporting Actor in a Musical or Music Theatre Show

Peter Court for Cabaret, as Herr Schultz

11. Best Performance in a Revue, Cabaret or One-Person Show

James Cuningham for Sunday Morning, as Mat (performed at Kalk Bay Theatre)

12. Rosalie van der Gucht Prize for Best New Director

Kim Kerfoot, for Statements After an Arrest Under the Immorality Act

13. Best Sound Design, Original Music Composition or Original Score

Daniel Pencer and Matthew Pencer for Mies Julie (Original Music Composition)

14. Best Costume Design

Angela Nemov for The Comedy of Errors (performed at the Maynardville Open Air Theatre)

15. Best Set Design

Fred Abrahamse for Kingdom of Earth

16. Best Lighting Design

Paul Abrams for Mies Julie

17. Award for Most Promising Student

Roelof Storm (University of Cape Town)

18. Lifetime Achievement Award

Richard Kearns (the Baxter Theatre's senior stage manager)

19. Award for Innovation in Theatre

Mandla Mbothwe

20. People’s Choice Award

I Am Hamlet

Nominees and the who’s who of the theatrical world were wined and dined in style at the Artscape Theatre, feasting on delectable canapés and desserts by Dish Food & Social (the bistro at the Theatre on the Bay), and sipping premium sparkling and other wines from Distell.

These are few of the images of the magical night:

The 2013 Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards winners. Photo courtesy of Allison Foat

Kat and the Kings' Dean Balie, winner of the Best Actor in a Musical Fleur du Cap Theatre Award, with director David Kramer and the rest of the talented cast. Photo courtesy of the Fugard Theatre

Richard Kearns, the Baxter Theatre's senior stage manager, receives his Lifetime Achievement Award at the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards at the Artscape Theatre in Cape Town. Photo courtesy of Jeffrey Abrahams

Catering for the 2013 Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards was provided by Dish Food & Social, including this decadent sweet section. Photo courtesy of Naushad Khan

For more information about the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards, visit www.fdcawards.co.za or join the Facebook page.

comments powered by Disqus

Wed: 10°C / 21°C

Currently: 13°C (00:58)