• Categories


  • Authors


  • Sort By


June 02, 2010

Benni doesn’t even make the World Cup bench

carlos parreira

Bafana Bafana coach, Carlos Parreira, has not included Benni McCarthy in his squad for the 2010 FIFA World Cup™. Photo courtesy adifans

Just days away from the start of the 2010 FIFA World Cup™, all the national football squads competing in the tournament have been finalised – South Africa coming in under the wire with their announcement on deadline day yesterday, along with Italy and Germany.

Benni McCarthy fans will be left disappointed by his omission from the Bafana Bafana squad, along with goalkeeper Rowen Fernández, defenders Bryce Moon and Innocent Mdledle, and midfielder Franklin Cale.

According to an article on the Times Live website, McCarthy’s mother, Dora, who lives in Cape Town, was disheartened by his exclusion.

She’s quoted as saying, “Nothing I can say will get him back in the team. We just have to accept it.”

McCarthy issued a statement after the squad announcement, reaffirming his commitment to Bafana Bafana: “All the players who made the national call-up should be proud. We did not fail, we just didn’t make the final 23.

“We are still a part of the team, if not the squad. The final squad is a tough call for any coach to make and I am sure it was not made without heartache.”

Football fans in the Mother City will carefully watch the national team’s progress, but they’ll have to do so on television or travel hundreds of kilometres to attend a match; Bafana won’t be taking to the field at Cape Town Stadium during the group stages.

The 23-man South African squad will play Mexico in the World Cup opening match at Soccer City in Johannesburg next Friday.

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune, Moeneeb Josephs, Shu-Aib Walters

Defenders: Siboniso Gaxa, Anele Ngcongca, Aaron Mokoena, Matthew Booth, Bongani Khumalo, Siyabonga Sangweni, Tsepo Masilela, Lucas Thwala

Midfielders: Teko Modise, Lance Davids, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, MacBeth Sibaya, Thanduyise Khuboni, Kagiso Dikgacoi, Steven Pienaar, Siphiwe Tshabalala

Strikers: Surprise Moriri, Bernard Parker, Katlego Mphela, Siyabonga Nomvethe

comments powered by Disqus