• Categories


  • Authors


  • Sort By


March 24, 2013

Absa Cape Epic 2013 results: Burry Stander-SONGO team take the win

Christoph Sauser and Jaroslav Kulhavy of Burry Stander-SONGO win the 2013 Absa Cape Epic. Photo courtesy of @AbsaCapeEpic

The 2013 Absa Cape Epic concluded at Lourensford Wine Estate in Somerset West today and was won by Christoph Sauser and Jaroslav Kulhavy of the Burry Stander-SONGO team. Second place went to Karl Platt and Urs Huber of Bulls, with Thomas Dietsch and Tim Boehme of Bulls 2 finishing third.

Sauser had won two previous events with South African Burry Stander, who passed away tragically earlier this year after being hit by a minibus. According to Independent Online, the Swiss rider said after the race: "When we were nine minutes behind on the third stage, we weren’t riding for the Epic anymore, we were riding for Burry’s family, and all the kids who sent us messages of support. We had to push all the way, there were no free rides."

The ladies' race was won by Yolande Speedy and Catherine Williamson of Energas, and the mixed race was won by Erik and Ariane Kleinhans of RE:CM. Nico Pfitzenmaier and Abraao Azevedo of Bridge won the masters' race and the grand masters was won by Barti Bucher and Heinz Zoerweg of Songo.info.

The seven-stage Absa Cape Epic is the most widely-televised mountain bike race in the world and takes place every March. This year was the 10th edition of the race. If you'd like to come out for next year's event, visit the Plan Your Trip section of this website for information about visiting Cape Town.

Below are some more photos of the race, all courtesy of @AbsaCapeEpic.

comments powered by Disqus