William Fehr Collection housed in Rust en Vreugd
William Fehr (1892-1968) was a private art collector whose paintings, furniture and other objets d’art are housed in two of Cape Town’s most historic buildings, the Castle of Good Hope and Rust en Vreugd.
Fehr’s private collection was first displayed on loan at the Castle in 1952 as part of the Van Riebeeck Tercentenary Festival. Between 1964 and 1965, the South African government acquired the entire Fehr collection, which was split between the Castle and Rust en Vreugd. The Rust en Vreugd collection was donated by Fehr as a gift to the nation.
The artefacts in the William Fehr Collection reflect the period of Dutch colonial settlement between the late 17th and early 19th centuries, as well as the post-1795 era of British occupation. The artworks represent a unique resource for this period of South Africa’s history.
The Castle, Cape Town’s oldest building, houses Fehr’s collection of oil paintings, furniture and decorative arts. Rust en Vreugd houses Fehr’s collection of 16th- to 19th-century pictorial Africana – comprising superb watercolours, etchings and lithographs – which reflects the history of the Cape and early South Africa.
The Castle of Good Hope is located in Cape Town’s central business district and is open daily from 09h30 to 16h00. It is closed on Christmas Day and New Year’s Day. Entrance costs R20 for adults (R10 on Sundays), R15 for pensioners with South African pension cards, R10 for students with South African student cards and R10 for children aged 5-16 years (R5 on Sundays). Booked school groups cost R5 per learner. Entrance fees are subject to change without prior notification.
Rust en Vreugd is located near to the Parliamentary buildings and the central business district of Cape Town at 78 Buitenkant Street. It was built in 1778 as a townhouse. Today it is acknowledged as the best example of 18th-century urban architecture in the country. Complementing the graceful home is a period-style garden, landscaped to resemble its original 1786 design.
Rust en Vreugd is open Tuesdays to Thursdays from 10h00-17h00. It is closed from Fridays to Mondays and on public holidays. Entry is free, but donations are welcomed.
Martin Melck House is one of the oldest colonial homes in South Africa named after its first owner. Its history is intimately entwined with that of Cape Town itself.
PRINS & PRINS DIAMONDS MUSEUM OF GEMS AND JEWELLERY
This unique museum project takes visitors on a journey from when diamonds first began to form three billion years ago and their 150 km journey to the surface, following the unique path of South African diamonds from their origin in extinct volcanoes to the deposits along our coastline. Learn about unique and rare gemstones, and see how jewellery has changed through thousands of years. The story about South Africa’s mineral wealth is told, not only for diamonds, but also for our Platinum and Gold deposits.
This cultural village aims to remind us of our origin and serves as the reservoir for African knowledge pertaining to nature and traditions, giving us an opportunity to celebrate who we are through music (wonderful sounds from live bands) or from its’ distinct fineness of cuisine, topped up with African (local) arts and crafts.
Hot summer sun, extra long days and warm nights, sun-kissed skin and time to spend with loved ones; summer in Cape Town is the ideal time to get outdoors and enjoy getting closer to the spectacular nature that is within minutes from the bustling city.
Diamonds were formed three billion years ago by molecular-changing heat of around 1 300 °C, deep within the Earth’s crust. If you didn’t know that, then you have not been to the Cape Town Diamond Museum.
Be the first to review this provider.